My favorite lines from ‘The Catcher In The Rye’

Something really bizarre happened that day. I was going through my twitter home page when I saw one of the people I am following, tweet this:

Tweeet

See, yeah right! I mean seriously, who the flowers will ever give such a remark about one of the best books of all times. I couldn’t bear the insult so I started asking her about the reason of why had she not liked the book. Turns out she has read the book in her (honestly, I don’t know her exact age but she looks like in her early or mid 30’s in her profile picture).

Anyway, the point is that you need to read this book as soon as you can if you have not already. Because who knows you might become one of those uncool people giving bad remarks about ‘The Catcher In The Rye” once you read it in your 30’s or 40’s. And believe me giving bad remarks about this book:  an instant turn off !

So, here are some lines to whet your appetite. Read them and realize how much coolness you are missing.

Spoiler alert: Most of the lines are by Holden Caulfield, a teenager drop-out, who is the main character of the novel.

Here :

  • I like to be somewhere at least where you can see girls once in a  while, even if they’re only scratching their arms or blowing their noses or even just giggling or something.
  • I could puke every time I hear that.
  • I didn’t feel like being lectured to and smell Vicks nose drops and look at old Spencer in his Pajamas and bathrobe all at the same time. Really I didn’t.
  • I am pretty sure he yelled ‘Good Luck!’ at me. I hope not. I hope to hell not. I’d never yell ‘Good Luck!’  at anybody. It sounds terrible, when you think about it.
  • I’m the most terrific liar you ever saw in your life. It’s awful. If I’m on my way to the store to buy a magazine, eve, and somebody asks me where I’m going, I’m liable to say I’m going to the opera. It’s terrible.
  • What really knocks me out is a book that, when you’re all done reading it, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend if yours and you could call him up in the phone whenever you felt like it.
  • I didn’t answer him right away. Suspense is good for some bastards like Stradlater.
  • He gave out a big yawn when he said that. Which is something that gives me a royal pain in the ass.
  • That guy Morrow was about as sensitive as a god damn toilet seat.
  • He was one of those bald guys that comb all their hair over from the side to cover up the baldness.
  • People always clap for the wrong things.
  • I certainly began to feel like a prize horse’s ass, though, sitting there all by myself.
  • She had some Navy officer with her that looked like he had a poker up his ass.
  • He was one of those guys that think they’re being pussy if they don’t break around forty of your fingers when they shake hands with you.
  • I’m always saying “Glad to’ve met you” to somebody I’m not all glad I met. If you want to stay alive, you have to say that stuff, though.
  • One of the troubles is, I never care too much when I lose something. It used to drive my mother crazy when I was a kid. Some guys spend days looking for something they lost. I never seem to have anything that if I lost it I’d care too much.
  • God damn money. It always ends up making you blue as hell.
  • Certain things they should stay the way they’re. You ought to be able to stick them in one of those big glass cases and just leave them alone. I know that’s impossible but it’s too bad anyway.
  • If a girl looks swell when she meets you, who gives a damn if she’s late? Nobody.
  • Girls. You never know what they are going to think.
  • The trouble with girls is, if they like a boy, no matter how big a bastard he is, they’ll say he has an inferiority complex, and if they don’t like him, no matter how nice a guy he is, or how big an inferiority complex he has, they’ll say he is conceited. Even smart girls do.
  • She was about as kind hearted as a god damn wolf. You take somebody that cries their god damn eyes out over phony stuff in the movies, and nine times of ten they’re mean bastards at the heart. I’m not kidding.
  • Anyway, I’m sort of glad that they’ve got the atomic bomb invented. If there’s ever another war, I’m going to sit right the hell on the top of it. I’ll volunteer for it, I swear to God I will.
  • Boy, when you’re dead, they really fix you up. I hope to hell when I do die somebody has sense enough to just dump me in the river or something. Anything except sticking me in a God damn cemetery. People coming and putting a bunch of flowers on your stomach on Sunday, and all that crap. Who wants flowers when you’re dead? Nobody.
  • It’s funny. All you have to do is say something nobody understands and they’ll do practically anything you want them to.
  • You can hit my father over the head with a chair and he won’t wake up, but my mother, all you have to do is cough somewhere in Siberia.
  • Boy, did he depress me! I don’t mean he was a bad guy. He wasn’t. But you don’t have to be a bad guy to depress somebody. you can be a good guy and do it.

The following lines are by Holden’s teacher:

  • The man falling isn’t permitted to feel or hear himself hit bottom.
  • But I can very clearly see you dying nobly, one way or another, for some highly unworthy cause.
  • “The mark of an immature man is that he wants to die nobly for a cause, while the mark of the mature man is that he wants to live humbly for one.”
  • Something else an academic education will do for you. If you go along with it a considerable distance, it’ll begin to give you an idea what kind of thoughts your particular size mind should be wearing. For one thing, it may save you an extraordinary amount of time trying on ideas that don’t suit you, aren’t becoming to you. You’ll begin to know your true measurements and dress your mind accordingly.
Leave a Reply

